Filter
What’s On Collections Bar & Kitchen Our Shop Contact Friends of Rossendale Museum at The Whitaker About us Learning at The Whitaker Become a Volunteer Artist in Residence Your Visit Exhibiting Blog Virtual Tour

Become a
volunteer

Your support makes a real
difference to The Whitaker.

Support us

Connect with us

Enter your email address to receive our newsletter

Activities at The Whitaker

Explore!

We have a whole new way of exploring the museum this summer! Come and spend time with our favourite friend Professor Jigget and our Activity Team and discover how! 

What will you explore? Who will you meet? What will you create?  

Sessions are taking place on Saturday 23 July, Thursday 11 August and Thursday 25 August, 11am - 1pm and 2 - 4pm.
  • Dates
    Saturday 23rd July 2022 – Thursday 25th August 2022
    11:00 am – 4:00 pm
  • Tickets

    FREE
    No Booking required. Drop-in sessions.
    Donations welcome.
    Sessions are aimed at age 5+

This event is supported by the Arts Council England

Many a magical explorer and curious adventurer have made their home within the Coach House at The Whitaker. Each one on a mission of discovery, and its current inhabitant is no exception.

Professor Jigget arrived at the Coach House to study and document the mysterious Faerie Folk of the surrounding park and gardens. And this he has done! But, when the time came for him to leave, the Professor found that he couldn’t.

There was something special about The Whitaker that made him want to stay. It was a curious kind of place.

Filled with questions to be asked, problems to be solved, things to create and places to play. And so, the Prof. stayed and now invites you to help him in his investigations and explorations.

The question is… are you curious enough to join him?

Additional notes:

  • Recommended age group is for guidance only if you have any questions on suitability please speak to one of our team members or email learning@thewhitaker.org
  • All activities are fully inclusive, please contact our team on learning@thewhitaker.org if you have any specific questions on accessibility
  • Unless otherwise stated, for family workshops you only need to book a ticket for each child attending. Accompanying adult is free
  • Activities can be booked via our website or by visiting our Welcome Desk
  • Whilst some activities are offered free due to our current funding from ACE and HLF, we have introduced ‘pay what you can’ for some events with a suggested donation. We appreciate donations to ensure we can keep activities running in the future
  • Our events cancellation policy can be accessed here.

What's On

Discover More

Activities at The Whitaker

Family Early Years Studio 2022

This is a permanent event
Find Out More

Contemporary Art Exhibitions

Cabinet of Curiosities Exhibition

This is a permanent event
Find Out More

Schools

School visit to our museum

Friday 1st January 2021 – Sunday 31st December 2023

Extended until 2023.

Register Your Interest

Contemporary Art Exhibitions

Tina Dempsey: soil.asleep.chill

Tuesday 17th May 2022 – Thursday 11th August 2022

Find Out More

Contemporary Art Exhibitions

Sixty Drawings + Ten

Thursday 16th June 2022 – Thursday 11th August 2022

Find Out More

Films at The Whitaker

Films at The Whitaker: Petite Maman

Thursday 7th July 2022

Ticketed

Free Entry

The Friends of Rossendale Museum

Thursday 7th July 2022

Contemporary Art Exhibitions

Sixty Drawings + Ten: Curated Conversation

Thursday 14th July 2022

Ticketed

Films at The Whitaker

Films at The Whitaker: West Side Story

Thursday 21st July 2022

Ticketed

Films at The Whitaker

Films at The Whitaker: In The Aisles

Thursday 4th August 2022

Ticketed

Activities at The Whitaker

Create with Caroline

Saturday 6th August 2022

Activities at The Whitaker

Early Years Studio in Summer

Thursday 18th August 2022

Find Out More

Films at The Whitaker

Opera at The Whitaker: The Magic Flute

Thursday 18th August 2022

Ticketed

Contemporary Art Exhibitions

Aideen Barry: for she is always creeping

Saturday 20th August 2022 – Sunday 16th October 2022

Find Out More

Activities at The Whitaker

Performance Art at The Whitaker

Saturday 27th August 2022

Find Out More

Films at The Whitaker

Films at The Whitaker: Radio On

Thursday 1st September 2022

Ticketed

Activities at The Whitaker

Monthly Museum Mystery!

Saturday 3rd September 2022

Find Out More

Activities at The Whitaker

Hands Up Who’s Happy? – A Play by Steve Cooper

Thursday 8th September 2022

Ticketed

Activities at The Whitaker

Heritage Open Weekend

Saturday 10th September 2022 – Sunday 11th September 2022

Find Out More

Films at The Whitaker

Films at The Whitaker: The Gleaners and I

Thursday 15th September 2022

Ticketed

Connect with us

Enter your email address to receive our newsletter